This region includes Australia and the region referred to as the 'Coral Triangle' which includes Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Soloman Islands and Timor-Leste.

Global Ecosystem Maps


Australia is home to two world heritage listed coral reefs, The Great Barrier Reef along the north east coast and Ningaloo Reef along the west coast.

Coral Triangle

The coral triangle is often referred to as 'the Amazon of the sea' as it is home to roughly 600 species (76%) of the worlds known coral species.

Internal Links

Funded By

In Association with